I started reading romance novels right after Class 8, when I was still at home waiting for my K.C.P.E results. My first book was ‘Message in a bottle’ by Nicholas Sparks. From that moment, I have never stopped. I felt it in my blood that I had found my life purpose. I kept reading through high school. Our library had pacesetters, I read all of them. The likes of Pains of a Maid, Evbu, My Love, Love on the rocks. I started buying Mills and Boons and would exchange them among my romance crew.

When the lessons got boring, I would pull out a romance book and read it under my locker. One day I was reading a book and tossed it aside telling my friend that the author’s books were boring. She sneered and said,” You are complaining, yet you don’t even know how to write one, some people.”

I was offended at first but later after much deliberation I rose up to the challenge. I started crafting my own romance story which I shared with my romance crew. It was an interesting story but I learned an important lesson, writing is no joke. I finished the book but I was not impressed with the results. Too much reading of Mills and Boons, made me believe that the story would be more interesting if my characters were white, had long hair and resided in an out of this world place.

I put the story aside and started on my second book ‘A Place Called Happiness’ in 2009 and finished it in 2014. After putting all my heart, love, sweat and blood into the book, I was impressed with the results.